

Ecma/GA/2008/106 (Rev. 1 –2 July 2008)

Excerpts

Minutes of	the: 95 th meeting of the Ecma General Assembly	
held in:	San Jose, CA, USA	
on:	10 June 2008	
President:	Mr. Neumann (Toshiba)	
Secretary:	Dr. Sebestyen (SG Ecma International)	
Attending:	 Mr. Akahira (Panasonic), Ms Auber (HP), Mrs. Bhorat (Google), Mr. Breidthardt (IBM), Mr. Brookes (Sony), Mrs. Calvillo (Adobe), Mr. Crockford (Yahoo), Mr. Elzinga (Ecma International), Mr. Galt (Boeing), Mr. Glinka (Fujifilm), Mrs. Higginbottom (HP), Mr. Horwat (Google), Mr. Krasniqi (NEC), Mr. McAllister (Adobe), Mr. McGowan (Boeing), Mr. Nohnishi (Konica Minolta), Mr. Sekiguchi (Fujitsu), Mr. Smith (Adobe), Mr. Sugaya (Toshiba), Mr. Takayama (Sony), Mr. Taniguchi (Pioneer), Mr. Tsutsumi (Konica Minolta), Mrs. Valet-Harper (Microsoft), Dr. Weijenbergh (Philips), Mr. Wennblom (Intel), Mr. Yamashita (Hitachi). 	
Apologies:	Mr. Theis (Avaya), Mr. Thyni (Ericsson), Mr. Wright (Lexmark).	

1 Opening

Mr. Neumann, President of Ecma, opened at 09:00 the 95th General Assembly meeting and welcomed all attendees, in particular those attending for the first time.

A roll call was held.

2 Call of representatives (GA/08/086)

Dr. Sebestyen proceeded to the call of the Ordinary Member Companies' representatives, present or represented by Proxy to the SG.

8 out of 23 Voting Intentions Forms (GA/08/086) have been returned.

23 out of 23 Ordinary Member Companies were represented:

Adobe Avaya Canon Ericsson Fujifilm Fujitsu Global Graphics Google Hewlett Packard Hitachi IBM Intel Konica Minolta Lexmark Microsoft Panasonic (Matsushita) Philips Pionoor	Mr. McAllister Voting Intentions Form Nothing received, default Proxy to the SG Nothing received, default Proxy to the SG Voting Intentions Form, Proxy to the SG Mr. Sekiguchi, Voting Intentions Form Voting Intentions Form, Proxy to the SG Mr. Horwat Mrs. Higginbottom Mr. Yamashita, Voting Intentions Form Mr. Breidthardt Mr. Wennblom Mr. Nohnishi Voting Intentions Form Mrs. Valet-Harper Mr. Akahira Dr. Weijenbergh
Pioneer	Mr. Taniguchi



Sony

Ricoh Voting Intentions Form Mr. Takayama Mr. Sugaya Toshiba Xerox Voting Intentions Form Yahoo Mr. Crockford

Minutes of the 94th GA meeting (GA/07/243) 3

The minutes of the 94th GA meeting were approved unanimously without changes.

- Matters arising from the Minutes not covered elsewhere 4 None.
- 5 Adoption of the agenda (GA/08/085), new documents The agenda - as posted in GA/08/085 Revision 1 - was adopted unanimously.

7.7 TC39 - Programming Environments

See report: TC39/08/011.

TC39 has elected a new chairman (**Mr. Neumann**) and they are working in parallel (though co-ordinated) on two new versions of EcmaScript (one version is subset of the other). There is significant concern within the GA on the TC proposed timing and naming of the two projects, especially the intent to produce two different standards (with different numbers) in the ISO/IEC environment.

Mr. Breidthardt cautioned to use the terms 'sub-set' and 'super set' in any explanation to justify two versions as this may raise the question why his could not be implemented as one document with optional functions. The TC39 chair clarified that this had been discussed, and that the text are significantly different such that it would hamper harmonisation. **Mr. Neumann** pointed out that the TC is aware of these problems and will work hard to make sure that the concerns of the GA are satisfied.